What California counties do not have an extended tax deadline for the 2022 tax year?

With all the IRS and State Tax department (FTB for CA) notifications being sent about the 22 tax year extension of deadlines, it is easy to be confused.

Believe it or not, there are 7 counties, as of the date we are publishing this article, that are NOT extended beyond April 18, 2023.

They are:

  • Imperial
  • Kern
  • Lassen
  • Modoc
  • Plumas
  • Shasta
  • Sierra


For CA and the other states that have federally declared disasters with extended due dates, keeping all this information is critical for income tax professionals. Here is the IRS website to refer to on the tax relief declared for the current and past 2 years.


Taxware Systems wishes you all the best as you navigate another unique tax season.